top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace McClung

Are Blue Light Glasses Worth It?

At this point, we’ve probably all been there: classes online, classwork online, homework online. Our screen time skyrockets to nearly every hour of every day as we use screens to learn, to distract, and to unwind. If you’re anything like me, then you too have experienced your fair share of digital eye strain and headaches. Just sitting all day on the computer is exhausting, so I looked for a solution.


I found one in a pair of blue light glasses from Amazon. For just $10, I was promised lightweight, durable glasses that would protect my eyes from harmful blue light and decrease my eye fatigue. Overall, I would say they’ve done their job. They’re comfortable, cute, and so far, they have made my eyes feel less strained. While it could be a placebo effect, I’m happy with the results thus far.


The glasses give the screen a noticeable tint even when nightlight mode is turned on, so they must be doing something. Of course, this easy eye care is not without its controversy. Some experts have gone so far as to suggest that blue light glasses are a scam, that blue light does not actually cause eye strain or eye disease; that is the work of the overuse of our digital devices. However, blue light-blocking glasses are relatively new so there is not a ton of research for either side.


And, if you’re caught up with the latest trends, then you probably know that blue light glasses are not only popular because of their so-called blocking abilities, but they are also gaining traction among teens because let’s face it: glasses are cute and not everyone has the eye problems to warrant them. So if you’re looking for trendy (non-prescription) glasses, then I would say go for it! No one would be able to guess you’re wearing blue light glasses simply by looking at you, so they make for a great alternative to other fake glasses.


In general, I would say yes, blue light glasses are worth it. Even if it turns out that my pair isn’t doing anything beneficial, they’re still cute and I’m only out $10. Plus, I should probably be spending less time on screens anyway.


To check out the pair that I have (shown in the picture, rose-gold color), click here.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page